Return to Website

Number Watch Web Forum

This forum is about wrong numbers in science, politics and the media. It respects good science and good English.

Number Watch Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
The *** of genius, sorry I cant remember its title

Right from the start this program irritated me, from it's over long introduction ( do they think we're all chavs sitting among burning cars thinking, d'oh ??) To its typical, CO2 is a pollutant, end. Long on drama, short on facts.
Yes, I thought about pointing my ignorant girlfriend( not her fault ) at it to see how household electricity works, but I'll continue to try and explain myself and arrange a visit to a power station ( wish I could do a nuclear one, but not possible these days ) one day.

I just bloody despair. Unlike John, I'm not a doctor of anything, except real life... I'd like to know what you think ( not about my girlfriend, that's up to me ) of this so-called program.

Stuart.

Re: The *** of genius, sorry I cant remember its title

It's in the January blog.

The program was, "The genius of invention" and is currently on the iPlayer here

DaveE.

Re: The *** of genius, sorry I cant remember its title

I thought it was a pretty good documentary for about the first 45 minutes. The programme looked as though it was aimed mainly at children (with a presentation style similar to 'Blue Peter' and the Royal Institution's Christmas Lectures), so I'm not sure why it is was being broadcast after 9pm.

In the last 15 minutes or so the Green agenda got 'crowbarred' into the programme, and it turned into something like a Government propaganda piece attempting to promote the idea of partly converting the Drax coal-fired power station into burning biomass.