Return to Website

Number Watch Web Forum

This forum is about wrong numbers in science, politics and the media. It respects good science and good English.

Number Watch Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Not Vioxx again...

The general equation for time to failure curves includes the variation of rate of events with time. This is seared into my memory, because as a research student I thought I had developed it independently, only to discover that von Laue had included it in his 1925 paper. The exponential distribution (Poisson’s traffic law) is the special case, when the event rate is independent of time lapse. Are you suggesting that a selection from the general population of various ages start to experience CV events just because you have started a trial? Are you satisfied that 18 months is a reasonable time constant for this process? In which case, why not select your group then start the trial two years later? Do you really think that all but 2% of the sample are virtually immune to such events; or indeed that removal of that 2%, corrected or not, is dramatically going to flatten your curve? All this compared with a treatment group that behaves exactly as you would expect and with a plausible time constant.
It is the slope of the curve, or to be precise the slope of -ln[1-F(t)] versus t, that is the estimator of event rate.
I regret that I am unable to comment on your anecdotal examples, for lack of familiarity.

Starting the trial with patients an average of two years older would have no effect unless you selected the trial population for not having any previous CV events. The population in this trial was >40 years old, exclusion for CV events only for the year prior to trial start.