Return to Website

Number Watch Web Forum

This forum is about wrong numbers in science, politics and the media. It respects good science and good English.

Number Watch Web Forum
Start a New Topic 
View Entire Thread
Re: April's number

Yes, I saw the joke at my expense and appreciated it. The error was that I had omitted the letter “r”. I had in fact made the correction, but was interrupted during the uploading process, which I failed to complete.
I have great difficulty with these modern flat keyboards and often find myself typing gobble****ok. As a student I taught myself touch typing on an old fashioned portable, but it does not adapt well to the new keyboard layout. The most irritating part is the closeness of the “caps lock” to the “a” and my bent little finger often strays.
PS I see I have been censored by the machine. Hoist by my own petard! Don't understand why.

I have the same problem with my CapsLock key. I solved that problem though. I turned it off. Keyboard settings on my Mac. I still manage to get extra caps in my content. That is from my other character flaws. I have grown to love my Macs chicklet keyboard though.

I don't know if Windows lets you disable the CapsLock key.

For a tutorial on disabling the caps lock in Windows. Not quite as easy as the Mac. You get to play with hex..

In Linux I just levered the key cap out. On the rare occasions I actually want a caps lock function I poke my little finger down the hole.

Does anyone use the ergonomic keyboards at all?

I sometimes wonder.

With all the 'elf 'n safety around these days I wonder so little attention is given to keyboard users.